Koeman announces first Orange selection and calls up three debutants

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Koeman announces first Orange selection and calls up three debutants

The selection of the Dutch national team for the European Championship qualifiers against France and Gibraltar has been announced. National coach Ronald Koeman has selected 25 names, including Lutsharel Geertruida and Mats Wieffer.

At the beginning of March, 37 players were included in the provisional selection of Koeman, who succeeded Louis van Gaal as national coach of Orange. Lutsharel Geertruida, Quilindschy Hartman, Mats Wieffer (all Feyenoord) and Bart Verbruggen (Anderlecht) made their debut. Geertruida, Wieffer and Verbruggen have survived the selection and are making their debut in the final selection.

Another notable name in the list was that of 86-time international Georginio Wijnaldum. The AS Roma midfielder suffered a leg fracture during a training session for his club last August and recently made his comeback. He is also in the final selection of the Dutch national team, just like Brian Brobbey and Sven Botman, who were among the dropouts for the World Cup.

Andries Noppert is the big absentee under the bar. The sc Heerenveen goalie was the first goalkeeper in Qatar, but is missing for the two European Championship qualifiers. Hartman, who is undergoing strong development at Feyenoord, also did not make it to the final selection. In addition to the pair, Joey Veerman, Stefan de Vrij, Noa Lang, Kjell Scherpen, Jeremie Frimpong, Kenny Tete, Ryan Gravenberch and Jordy Clasie have also dropped out.

The Dutch national team will start the qualifying series for the 2024 European Championship with an away match against France on Friday 24 March. Three days later (Monday, March 27), Gibraltar is the Orange’s opponent in De Kuip.

The final selection of Orange:
Keepers: Mark Fleks (SC Freiburg), Jasper Cillessen (NEC), Bart Verbruggen (Anderlecht).
Defenders: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool) Jurriรซn Timber (Ajax), Tyrell Malacia (Manchester United), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich), Nathan Akรฉ (Manchester City), Denzel Dumfries (Internazionale) Daley Blind (Bayern Munich), Sven Botman (Newcastle) United), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord).
Midfielders: Steven Berghuis (Ajax), Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Kenneth Taylor (Ajax), Mats Wieffer (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (AS Roma).
Attackers: Memphis Depay (Atlรฉtico Madrid), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Wout Weghorst (Manchester United), Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Xavi Simons (PSV).

Unibet (Kindred)

Feyenoord wins the Classic: 100x your stake!

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img